9.28.2013

This Seat Taken? Notes of a Hapless Commuter

This Seat Taken? Notes of a Hapless Commuter
By Anthony Buccino

If you ever commuted to work, you'll enjoy your ride reading Anthony Buccino's latest collection "This Seat Taken? Notes of a HaplessCommuter" about the joys and follies of getting to and from work in the city using public transit.

Buccino's bus and rail commuting tales and observations are collected in this new 224-page book which is available in print, on Amazon and Nook.

Fine Art Photos by Mark Cranston

Check out the fine art photography by my friend Mark Cranston. Which one would look best in your office, man cave, home? 


 Hint: I especially like Misty Bog, in case you're thinking about a Christmas present for me.

9.03.2012

Jersey City Snapshots - for Kindle ereaders

Get out your Kindle (Fire) and check out Jersey City Snapshots
A new book by Anthony Buccino. 


More than 200 color snapshots of Jersey City, New Jersey, from Pavonia/Newport to Paulus Hook, from Grundy Park to Grove Street, along the Hudson River from the Colgate clock to Exchange Place, Harborside and through neighborhoods that have no names.

Color photos are ideal for viewing on Kindle Fire, and bring you up close to New Jersey's second-largest city, its building boom and its broken ground.
Writer/photographer, who worked and walked these streets for nearly ten years, leaves words behind and speaks thorugh the camera lens and we see the commonplace wildlife, the glimmering structures and the grandeur of the Twin Towers at the World Trade Center and the memorials erected in Jersey City.

This collection is ideal for fans of Jersey City, and folks who've always wanted to visit.

11.02.2009

AMERICAN BOY: PUSHING SIXTY a new book

Anthony Buccino has published his third poetry collection AMERICAN BOY: Pushing Sixty

Working class verse about life and growing up in New Jersey.

About life and growing up in New Jersey in the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s, and growing older in the 1980s, 1990s and the oughts.
 From the center of the Baby Boom, this working class verse begins under a wooden class room desk as an air raid siren sounds, and captures the summer spell and its simplicity in drinking water from a garden hose.

Nutley, New Jersey, author Anthony Buccino published eighteen books including four essay collections, three military history books and seven full-length poetry collections. 

Buccino won two 2014 Society of Professional Journalists Excellence in Journalism Awards in Online Media Affiliated Blog.  His stories of the 1960s and his transit blog on NJ.com earned earlier SPJ Excellence In Journalism awards.  The Pushcart Prize-nominated writer has been called ' “New Jersey’s ‘Garrison Keillor” or something to that effect.’

A financial news editor by day, Buccino nonetheless writes with humor on his many feature length posts on NJ.com, in essays and in poetry. 

Anthony Buccino created the New Jersey Poets and Poetry site online, a collection of poetry news and events.

Updated: 2015